我們是誰

Winner

蕭偉恒 - 境內景外

蕭偉恒 下白泥,位於新界西岸,面對深圳蛇口。由於海岸線長,它曾是最安全的偷渡路線終點。現在則是人們郊遊及欣賞日落的去處。
蕭偉恒 尖鼻咀,在五十至八十年代是另一非法入境者抵港熱點。此處曾有一座標誌性的警察燈塔,從深灣(即深圳灣)下水的偷渡者都以此為目標。現在尖鼻咀仍是香港西北邊境偏遠的禁區。
蕭偉恒 網井圍為邊境附近一偏遠地區。當非法入境者抵達香港,曾經有村民幫忙匿藏。
蕭偉恒 南生圍是另一匿藏位置,鄰近元朗。非法入境者可以在此找尋親人,或嘗試前往九龍。現在此處以觀鳥及踏單車聞名。
蕭偉恒 ...
蕭偉恒 沙頭角,自1898年為禁區,而由於偷渡問題猖獗,1951年更設立邊境關卡。現在,中國境內的沙頭角因受益於改革開放而高度發展,然而香港境內的沙頭角卻仍然是寧靜小鎮。
蕭偉恒 東平洲為香港東北方的小島,靠近深圳大鵬灣。它曾是非法入境者從東面經水路入境的熱門地點,然而不少人途中被為解放軍或鯊魚所殺。

個人履歷

蕭偉恒畢業於香港城市大學創意媒體學院,其後於香港中文大學取得藝術碩士學位。2014年獲得WYNG大師攝影獎。曾參與不同聯展,包括「WYNG大師攝影獎作品展」、「中國平遙國際攝影大展2013」(平遙,2013)、「香港當代藝術獎2012」(2013,香港藝術館)、「Hong Kong EYE」(香港文華東方酒店,2013)、「Image on the Run」(香港城市大學,2013)、「牛下開飯」(2009)。個人攝影展覽有「捉不到的」( 光影作坊,2015)及「逐『綠』都市」(K11藝術專區,2010)。作品為香港立法會、香港半島酒店及私人藏家收藏。現居香港及於各大專院校教授藝術。

項目說明

歷史常常被認為是過去式,不是當代的問題。歷史造就了今天,今天並不是無故的出現,是以歷史脈絡為因的果。當代的問題未解決,歷史仍處於進行式,這必然會連動到現在的我們。每個世代出生的人都有其自身的歷史問題,而身為偷渡者後代同是八十後的我,無可否認是一個不折不扣的香港人,但面對中國,那種似是而非的認同感,的而且確會使我經常思考與中國的關係。那種關係雖然模稜兩可,我覺得,至少我要有自己的觀點或立場。

從小到大,我家也會「回」爸爸廣州的家。關於身份的理解,我大多來自我爸的憶述。了解他偷渡來香港的經歷就好比了解自身的歷史身份問題。可是兒時聽到他的憶述片斷且糢糊,從他的臉孔、身體、談吐外,關於他偷渡的經歷,我大部也只能臆想。

「過去」是必然消逝的,我們沒法拍攝逝去的真實。要面對的就是此時此刻的他和以陳秉安一本關於大逃港歷史的著作為參考,相互補充之餘又將我所關心的問題脫離了個人層面。我相信那段像是被遺忘的歷史影響著每一個偷渡者及其後代,甚至整個香港。不單是身份,是希望從其中確定香港,是我們常說的核心價值。是次作品從大逃港時期偷渡客上岸的香港邊境拍攝對岸的中國大陸,那邊界象徵身份、歷史、價值(本土意識/核心價值),沒有那界線,香港便從來都不存在。

在個人與公眾之間,我卻不確定會產生一個怎樣的攝影模式。「非傳記」又「非紀實」的作品,或許關於那時的爸爸,也可能連繫到每個港人的根,最後,或者是我想像以外的其他。

IDENTITY

Winner

Siu Wai Hang - InsideOutland

Siu Wai Hang Ha Pak Lai, it is located on the west coast of the New Territories, opposite to Shekou, Shenzhen. It was the safest landing point for illegal immigrants because of its' long coastline. Now people go there for leisure (e.g. hiking, fishing...) and the...
Siu Wai Hang Tsim Bei Tsui, another hotspot where illegal immigrants landed during the 50-80s. There was an iconic police lighthouse in the Hong Kong side which gave direction to illegal immigrants swimming from the Deep Bay (Shenzhen Bay) side. Now, Tsim Bei Tsui is...
Siu Wai Hang Mong Tseng Wai, one of the remote places near the frontier. There were villages to hide and to seek help when illegal immigrants landed in Hong Kong.
Siu Wai Hang Nam Sang Wai, another place to hide and is located close to Yuen Long Town, where illegal immigrants can find their family members or find the way to Kowloon. Nowadays this place is well-known for bird watching and cycling.
Siu Wai Hang Ng Tung River, a river in the North East New Territories, which is a tributary of Shenzhen river and ends at Lo Wu. Between 1898 and 1949, there was no border patrol in Lo Wu area, as a result, people were free to travel between Hong Kong and China. In...
Siu Wai Hang Sha Tau Kok, a closed area since 1898 and a Control Point was set up in 1951 because of serious illegal immigration. Today, Shatoujiao (China side) is a highly developed area which benefited from the development during the Chinese economic reform, but Sha...
Siu Wai Hang Tung Ping Chau, a small island, is located at the North East of Hong Kong and next to Mirs Bay Shenzhen. It was a hotspot of illegal immigrants who swam from the east, however many people were killed half way either by the PLA or by sharks.

Biography

Siu Wai Hang graduated with a Bachelor of Arts (Hons) in Creative Media from The School of Creative Media, The City University of Hong Kong. He went on to obtain his Master of Fine Art from the Department of Fine Arts, The Chinese University of Hong Kong. In 2014, he won the WYNG Masters Award on the theme of “AIR”. In 2010, Siu presented a solo exhibition “Metropolis Chlorophyll” (K11 Art Mall, 2010) and in 2015 he presented “The Elusive” (Lumenvisum, 2015). He has also joined a number group exhibitions, including “780S” (Blindspot Gallery, 2014) , “WYNG Masters Award Finalists’ Exhibition – GASP” (Hong Kong Polytechnic University, 2014), “Pingyao International Photography Festival 2013” (Pingyao, 2013), “Hong Kong Contemporary Art Awards 2012” (Hong Kong Museum of Art, 2013), “Hong Kong EYE” (Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, 2013), “Image on the Run” (City University of Hong Kong, 2013) and “Dine at Lower Ngau Tau Kok Estate” (2009). His works are collected by The Legislative Council of Hong Kong, The Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong and various private collections. He currently lives and works in Hong Kong and teaches at various art institutes and universities.

Project Statement

If history is totally related to the past, there would be no so-called contemporary problem or historical problem. However, many different contexts remain that are still affecting our lives. We cannot ignore historical problems, somehow we have to deal with them head on. People from every generation have their own problems as a result of history. As a “post-80s” man and a son of a stowaway, there is no doubt I identify myself as a Hong Konger. But in relation to China and identity, I find myself in a paradoxical situation. I often ponder on this issue even though it always confuses me.

Understanding my father’s experience of sneaking into Hong Kong has helped me to have a better grasp of my identity. However, I can only project based on his memories which are fragmented and indistinct, and other times based on his facial expressions and conversations.

Inevitably, the “past” is fading away, we cannot capture every moment of the past, but we can try to re-experience it and it might be the best method for me to rediscover my identity. From the personal history of my father to the collective memories of those stowaways interviewed by Bingan Chan, a Shenzhen journalist, my personal research does not only complement his but also allows my concerns to emerge at a personal level. I believe that part of forgotten history affects every stowaway and their descendants, and perhaps to an extent, the whole of Hong Kong. This is about identity, but more importantly, it determines what Hong Kong is, the core values that we often refer to.

This is an art project that is neither biographical nor documentary in nature. Perhaps currently it is a reflection of my father; but it could also be used to trace the origins of Hong Kong people or even linked to other things beyond my imagination.