空氣

Finalist

高靈 - 大霧

高靈 在長期呼吸了北京不純淨的空氣後,「大霧」項目參與者香港公民何穎雅發明了德州「大霧補命濕潤療法」。
高靈 在香港某藝術機構,即將上演關於「空氣」的即興戲劇。 「大霧」參與者張樹頎和孫大肆正在排練。
高靈 冬日倫敦北部的一次華人火鍋聚會,Jeremy Lee穿越在香港。 「大霧」項目參與者Jeremy Lee的呼吸法。
高靈 浪漫,莫過於在惡劣的空氣中選擇一起蒙面前行。 「大霧」項目參與者何京蘊和羅名川默然尋求一種全新的生活方式。
高靈 一個哭泣的卡通人,似落在城市樓頂的天使。 「大霧」參與者陳明天對糟糕空氣的無言控诉。

個人履歷

高靈,1980年生於中國江蘇,目前居住在北京和倫敦。她是一位跨界藝術工作者,通過混合視覺、攝影、裝置和行為等多種媒介,緊密審視日常生活中所謂的「庸常」並作出奇異幽默的干預和重設,來挑戰人們和「庸常」的關係。作品曾參加大聲展、米蘭設計周及紐約e-flux當舖。

2008年她與美國華裔藝術家何穎雅共同創立LING & COMMA,致力研究女性,身體,空間和日常等的互動關係,是一個發掘新功能新興趣的藝術小組,代表作品「女泉」。次年她獲柏林PROGRAM畫廊及漢堡KONTEMPORAR畫廊邀請為訪問藝術家,參與藝術項目PUBLIC Research的攝影工作,並開始紀錄性藝術項目「 哈欠連天」。其後於「WOMEN我們」主題展展出兩份作品。「女泉」和「胸器」,此展覽 於此2011年在上海揭幕,其後巡迴至三藩市及邁阿密展出。 2012年她與上海女愛合作,戴上「胸器」於上海地鐵二號線進行行為藝術「我可以騷,你不能擾」,作品引起全國廣泛討論,並登上BBC及經濟學人等國際媒體。同年接受學術期刊《YISHU》訪談,並於2013年11月接受泰特現代美術館亞太研究中心研究員專訪。

項目說明

藝術項目「大霧 The Big Mist」於2013年1月發起,時值北京被霧霾深深籠罩,而整個亞洲城市空氣環境亦日益糟糕。此項目試圖從全球各地征集自拍照片,用詼諧幽默的視覺語言展現我們對空氣污染的態度。

項目2013年1月於倫敦發起,於facebook、微博、豆瓣等社交網絡媒介公開徵集回應亞洲空氣污染的相片。「大霧 The Big Mist」至今收集了數十幅行為照片,相片來自不同地域,包括北京到香港,加德滿都到柏林,倫敦到馬德里。希望通過相片中幽默的行為表演,質疑工業過度發展所帶來的各類污染問題,作出一次無聲的集體吶喊。

相片仍在不斷的更新中,第一期的攝影集即將於此項目舉辦後一周年,即2014年2月發布。

「大霧 The Big Mist」 Facebook專頁: https://www.facebook.com/events/449960541741862/ 「大霧 The Big Mist」

豆瓣相簿: http://www.douban.com/photos/album/87029203/

AIR

Finalist

Gao Ling - The Big Mist

Gao Ling Elaine W. Ho, who participated in The Big Mist project has invented Big Mist Moisturizing Life-saving Therapy.
Gao Ling In an art organization in Hong Kong, an improvised theater with the theme "air" will be staged. Zhang Shuqi and Sun Dasi, participants of The Big Mist project are rehersing.
Gao Ling A Chinese hot pot party in northern London, Jeremy Lee, participant in The Big Mist project, shows his way of breathing.
Gao Ling Nothing is more romantic than walking hand in hand with a mask in polluted air. Anouchka van Driel and Julieanne Luo, participants in The Big Mist project, search for a new way of life silently.
Gao Ling A crying figure is like a fallen angel on the rooftop in the city. Tomorrow, a participant in The Big Mist project, talks about the terrible air silently.

Biography

Gao Ling was born in Jiangsu, China in 1980 and currently lives between Beijing and London. Her inter-disciplinary approach encompasses diverse mediums of visual art, photography, installation and performance. Her work closely scrutinizes the ‘norms’ of daily life and creates surprising and often humorous interventions and re-appropriations that challenge our relationship with them. Her artworks have been featured in a number of exhibitions including in Get It Louder, Milan Design Week and e-flux project: Pawnshop.

In 2008, together with Chinese American artist Elaine W. Ho, Gao founded the arts group LING & COMMA whose primary interest is to investigate issues of female identity, body-politics, space and interaction with the everyday. Gao Ling’s prominent works include the widely exhibited and published Nv Quan. In 2009, she was invited as a visiting artist and photographer to PROGRAM Berlin and Kontemporar gallery to join the project PUBLIC Research. During that time she began the art project Let Out A Yawn. Two of her works Nv Quan and Hey! TTTTouch Me! are included in the traveling exhibition WOMEN我們 which premiered in Shanghai in 2011, traveled to San Francisco and is currently on view in Miami. n 2012, she collaborated with the NGO Shanghai Nvai to launch the performance/protest “Occupy Shanghai Subway: It’s A Dress, Not A Yes”.. Using Gao’s art piece in Hey! TTTTouch Me! the performance/protest provoked a national discussion, and was featured in international media such as the BBC and the Economist. Her work was reviewed in the contemporary arts journal Yishu in 2012. In 2013 she was interviewed by the Asia-Pacific Research Centre of the Tate Modern which is one of the leading centres for research in visual art and museum studies.

Project Statement

The Big Mist project was launched in January 2013 at which time Beijing was shrouded in smog and Asia was in turn adversely affected by China’s worsening urban air pollution. The Big Mist seeks to create a global archive of ‘selfies’ that playfully engages our contemporary attitude to air pollution.

The art project took the form of an open call, through social media, for creative photographic submissions responding to the theme of environmental air pollution in Asia. Sites such as Facebook, Weibo and Douban were used. Several dozen submissions from around the world, from Beijing to Hong Kong, Kathmandu to Berlin, London to Madrid, were received. An aim of The Big Mist is for participants to use performance and humour in the photographic form as a challenge to over-industrialisation and the pollution it brings. It also acts as a collective silent cry.

The art project is ongoing and more photos will continue to be added. An independent magazine The Big Mist will be published in February 2014 to coincide with the first anniversary of this project.

The Big Mist Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/events/449960541741862/

The Big Mist Douban Album: http://www.douban.com/photos/album/87029203/