廢/棄

Finalist

Mandy Barker - 香港湯

Mandy Barker 在香港島、大嶼山和新界的三個海灘收集得來冰條塑膠包裝。 包括:海馬、海豚、大象、鱷魚、豬、貓、熊和水果,和生肖動物:蛇、兔及豬。 ...
Mandy Barker 由海中拾來模擬糉形的塑膠包裝。傳統糉子是由竹葉包裹,在端午節時拋入海中。 (2013年11月在大嶼山大澳海灘拾獲)
Mandy Barker ...
Mandy Barker 遭拋棄的打火機正是象徵即用即棄的社會。代表中國的熊貓圖象,背向著各類瀕危物種,以示大自然不再理會無力為廢物負責的人類,並比喻人類的未來及滅亡。 ...
Mandy Barker 一系列在自然界花期不一,並且不應生於海中的人工花朵。蓮花早在三千年前的《詩經國風》中,就跟美麗拉上關係。《詩經》關注自然與日常生活中的美,就是本圖像希望傳達的信息。 ...
Mandy Barker 十件從十個不同泳灘收集的家居廢物,與由十層不同材料組成的傳統新年食物盆菜相似 ...
Mandy Barker 食物和飲品的即棄包裝、家庭用品、醫療及有害廢料。 ...
Mandy Barker 代表52公噸每天被棄置於堆填區的聚苯乙烯發泡膠食具,香港大大小小的海灘都可找到發泡膠。 包括:發泡膠食具、包裝、球、玩具及漁業相關廢料。...
Mandy Barker 拾來的變形金剛玩具,反映玩具被胡亂棄置,同時帶出需要變更香港大眾習慣和行為的信息,強調坐言起行。 包括:人偶玩具 (過去三年在不同海灘收集的變形金剛玩具)
Mandy Barker 於索罟群島收集的廢物,展現出該處海灘及群島的形狀。 包括:醫療、農業及漁業相關廢料,並突出龍及扇此兩種中國文化中具象徵意義的物件。 (部份去年於索罟群島收集的廢料)

個人履歷

Mandy Barker 是國際知名攝影師,其關於海洋廢物的作品屢獲國際肯定。作品系列「湯」先後於二十多個國家刊出,見於美國時代雜誌、衛報Eyewitness、GEO、CNN、及 The Explorer’s Journal 。她的作品於不同國家展出,作品參展「Gyre: The Plastic Ocean」 展覽,展覽以阿拉斯加 Anchorage Museum為起點,並正於美國巡迴展出。

2012年Mandy Barker獲英國皇家攝影學會資助,參加塑膠研究考察,與一群科學家由日本航行至夏威夷,穿越散佈海嘯殘骸的太平洋海域。旅程為「SHOAL」系列提供材料,並為她其後的作品打下了堅實的基礎。

Mandy Barker亦於各地演講介紹作品,於2013年11月獲邀為香港無塑海洋(Plastic Free Seas)青年論壇講者。她亦於國際版CNN上撰文討論藝術與環境的關係,而她的作品被美國時代雜誌選中宣傳2012年世界地球日。她曾兩次獲提名參與關注持續性發展議題的攝影獎Prix Pictet,其攝影系列「PENALTY」拍攝世界各地769個流落大海的足球,於2014年得到Lens Culture獎項。她亦入圍2014年Critical Mass Top 50。

她的作品旨在結合美感及議題的矛盾,帶動及刺激觀眾的情感反應,進而提升意識。Mandy Barker致力通過嶄新的視覺演繹,展現海洋廢物的影響,希望最後能夠引發正面行動,處理此日益嚴峻的全球環境議題。

項目說明

「香港湯」是一個新近完成的長期攝影計劃,展示從香港超過30個海灘收集得來的塑膠廢料。每天,香港有超過1,826公噸都市塑膠廢料進入堆填區,相片通過展示並未進入堆積區或回收場的廢物,反映廢物的種類繁多。

這些圖像直指香港的傳統、事件、自然及文化,以聯繫和警剔大眾現時香港面對的廢物管理危機。來自製造業、零售業、家居及醫療的廢料,與農業、航運業及漁業留下的廢物並置於作品中。

「湯」是對海中殘留廢物,以及香港廢物問題的形容。本系列希望介入公眾,刺激他們的情感,並通過美感及意識上的矛盾,鼓勵公眾負起社會責任。

本系列中的所有廢物都在由2012起,過去三年收集而來,並於香港拍攝及英國構圖,展示在香港不同時間存在的各種廢物。

統計數字:環境保護署香港固體廢物監察報告──二零一二年的統計數字

WASTE

Finalist

Mandy Barker - Hong Kong Soup (湯)

Mandy Barker Plastic ice-lolly wrappers and syringes collected from visits to three different beaches on Hong Kong Island, Lantau Island, and the New Territories. Includes; seahorse, dolphin, elephant, crocodile, pig, cat, bear and fruits, with Chinese New Year...
Mandy Barker Miniature plastic imitation sticky rice packages found in the sea. Zongzi, or Zong are traditionally made from bamboo leaves and thrown into the sea as part of the Dragon Boat Festival in Hong Kong. (Recovered from Tai O Beach, Lantau Island, November...
Mandy Barker Representing 150 tonnes of nurdles (pre-production pellets), spilt from a cargo container during Typhoon Vicente on 23 July 2012, adds to Hong Kong’s waste issues in the sea and on its beaches. The image mirrors the night sky on the day of the spillage...
Mandy Barker Discarded cigarette lighters make reference to our single use ‘Throw Away’ society. The panda motif, a national emblem of China, faces away from the group representing endangered species with Mother Nature turning her back on man’s inability to take...
Mandy Barker A collection of different species of waste artificial flowers that would not exist at the same flowering time in nature and should not be found in the ocean. The Lotus flower has associations with beauty as early as Guofeng in the Book of Poetry, written...
Mandy Barker Ten objects of municipal waste collected from ten different beaches relate to Hong Kong’s traditional village New Year’s dish, Poon Choi, which is comprised of ten layers of ingredients that go into this one-pot meal. Includes; child’s sandal,...
Mandy Barker Waste packaging from single-use food, and drink items with household products, found alongside medical and hazardous waste are depicted in this image. Includes; bottle tops and bottles, plastic gift wrap from Shenzhen’s miniature village, condoms, and...
Mandy Barker Representing 52 tonnes of polystyrene foam dining ware that goes into landfill each day. Foam pieces litter every beach in Hong Kong. Includes; polystyrene dining ware, packaging, balls, toys and fishing related debris. (Polystyrene collected from five...
Mandy Barker Recovered toy transformers reflect inadequate disposal of children’s toys, with the message to TRANSFORM the habits and behavior of the public in Hong Kong, the emphasis being to take ACTION. Includes; action figures. (Transformers; part of a...
Mandy Barker Waste collected from the Soko Islands represents the contour of the beaches and shape of the islands from where the waste was collected. Includes; medical, agricultural, and fishing related waste, whilst highlighting the dragon and fan, symbolic items...

Biography

Mandy Barker is an international, award-winning photographer and her work involving marine plastic debris has received global recognition. Her series SOUP has been published in over 20 countries including TIME Magazine USA, The Guardian Eyewitness, GEO, CNN, and The Explorers Journal. She has exhibited internationally and her work is currently touring the United States as part of exhibition Gyre: The Plastic Ocean, which began in 2013 at The Anchorage Museum, Alaska.

In 2012 Barker was awarded The Royal Photographic Society’s Environmental Bursary enabling her to join scientists aboard a Plastic Research Expedition sailing from Japan to Hawaii through the Tsunami Debris Field in the Pacific Ocean. This opportunity allowed her to create the series SHOAL, enabling her to see debris at source and providing a solid foundation for her ongoing work.

Barker speaks internationally about her work and in November 2013 was invited to speak at the Plastic Free Seas Youth Conference in Hong Kong. She has contributed to articles for CNN International concerning the relationship between the arts and the environment, and in the United States her work was featured on TIME Magazine’s Lightbox for Earth Day 2012. She has been nominated twice for the prestigious Prix Pictet award, the world’s leading photographic award in sustainability, and in 2014 received an award from Lens Culture for her series PENALTY, which involved the collection of 769 marine debris soccer balls from around the World. She was also selected as a finalist in the Critical Mass Top 50 of 2014.

Barker’s work aims to engage with, and stimulate, an emotional response in the viewer by combining a contradiction between initial aesthetic attraction and the subsequent message of awareness. The impact of oceanic waste is an area Barker is committed to pursuing through innovative visual interpretation, hoping it will ultimately lead to positive action in tackling this increasing global environmental problem.

Project Statement

Hong Kong Soup (湯) is a recently completed, long term project depicting waste plastic collected from over thirty different beaches in Hong Kong. Over 1,826 tonnes of municipal waste plastic per day goes into landfill in Hong Kong, and each image reflects the diverse range of these products by highlighting recovered objects or groups having escaped recycling or landfill.

The images directly relate to the traditions, events, nature, and culture of Hong Kong, with the intention to connect with its people providing awareness about the crisis facing effective waste management. Objects include products from manufacturing, retail, household and medical waste alongside agricultural, shipping and fishing related debris.

Soup (湯) is a description given to plastic debris suspended in the sea and in this case with reference to the waste crisis in Hong Kong. The series aims to engage with the public by stimulating an emotional response, combining a contradiction between initial aesthetic attraction with an awareness to encourage social responsibility.

All debris in this series has been collected over the past three years (since 2012). Photographed in Hong Kong and composed in the United Kingdom, it represents a wide-ranging collection of waste that has existed for varying amounts of time on Hong Kong’s own doorstep.

Statistic – The Environmental Protection Department, Hong Kong. Waste Statistics for 2012.