Winner

鄭瑋玲 - 彼岸

個人履歷

鄭瑋玲的創作以攝影、聲音及錄象為主要媒介,作品探索社會經濟、歷史、家庭及國家如何與記憶交集,以及離散與個人身份。她曾與多個團體合作舉辦展覽,包括澳洲國家大學中華全球研究中心、新加坡國立大學博物館、巴基斯坦Vasl Artists’ Collective、日本福岡市亞洲美術館及土耳其伊斯坦堡ARTER Space for Art。她曾獲得多個獎項,包括耶魯大學藝術學院Poynter Fellowship,及新加坡國家藝術理事會Art Creation Fund。鄭氏作品獲多個公共及私人機構收藏,包括新加坡國立大學博物館、國立台灣美術館、日本福岡市亞洲美術館、香港文化博物館及日本清里攝影藝術博物館。

項目說明

不少中國大陸青年為了家族生意、教育機會和事業前境,從大陸移居香港。縱然身處華人為主的社會,他們卻感到環境日漸緊張,經常要面對對「大陸人」根深柢固的想法。鄭瑋玲與二十歲至三十出頭的中國大陸專業人士及學生合作,反思十年來此類移民大幅增加的現象,通過在聲音訪談及相片的互動,希望跨越香港與中國大陸刻板印象的二元關係。

由自身移民身份出發,鄭瑋玲探索地域流動如何影響自我意識──國家和家族歷史如何與個人記憶交集、日常生活的關係如何影響我們、當代社會、經濟以及政治環境如何形成內在矛盾,而這一切種種如何塑造我們。圖像與聲音文字將分開展示,為觀看及聆聽創造多層次的脈絡,從而理解這些在中港複雜的關係背後轉變中的身份。

計劃聲音內容節錄:

……他們來到這裡,好像一段足夠長的時間以後,他們就會忘記了這件事情。在我的角度來看,我覺得我的舅父忘記了這件事情,我媽媽忘記了這件事情。於是他們就單純的站在一個,嗯,與大陸人不一樣的角度來看所有的事情,所以就變成是令到香港看大陸這件事情[的時候]更加的疏遠。 就連曾經跟大陸非常親密的人都會突然間[覺得自己]跟大陸是不一樣的──我跟他們是不一樣的 ── 好像隔岸觀火一樣的一種看法去看所有的事情……

所以說,回歸了,但是人心未歸。可以這麼說。

……他們完全對大陸不夠了解,以致不知道我們這一代被洗腦,但是沒有被洗腦成功的那些人的視野和水平也到達了甚麼地步。這些交流是不夠的。那, 因為這些東西,因為現在這種雙向的歧視,再加上政府實在太蠢了,政府的很多政策太蠢了,導致,我覺得這種交流的可能性會越來越小。如果這樣的話,留在這裡也沒有意義了。我個人來到香港的目的是想做一個國際公民,結果來到這裡還是做了一個中華人民共和國的那種公民,所謂的公民……

……就那個時候會想,我留在這裡幹嘛呢……那我在香港到底是個怎麼樣的人呢 。但是你跟這個城市所發生的大部分事情,工作,上班啊,或者是其他的entertainment,朋友都沒有關係,就好像一個孤島一樣在這裡居住,除了媽媽在這裡。那個時候就會比較多這些struggle,就會想我以後要不要來香港……但後來可能人大了以後,就覺得……融入不融入也好,你只要有自己的生活就好,你不需要逼自己成為一個標準的香港人……

……我爸他當兵,所以我出生的時候,他也不在身邊……我媽最早她是在鄉政政府裡。 她做公務員,做婦女工作。就類似於……啊……下鄉然後給婦女做一些講座啊,就是提高一下婦女的文化知識水平啊……啊……我不知道……婦女工作對我來說是一個很抽象的詞 ……我在沒有離開家的時候……像對家庭也對婚姻啊,對家庭這些,我不是那麼的有嚮往,因為我並不知道那個是個怎麼樣的東西,因為我沒有經歷過。但是可能我離開家一段時間以後,特別是來香港以後,我慢慢的可以從我媽媽的影子裡面走出來。我可以去想,去經驗,去體驗我自己想要的東西是甚麼……

[我]從小就會潛移默化的被教育,怎麼說,不要參與政治決策的那種討論,然後要迴避政治這件事情。就感覺會有一種威脅,就說,如果我要這樣,可能會有不好的結果。所以在長期在這種威脅之下,可能就會慢慢成為一種習慣。就怕,怕給自己帶來一些不好的後果。

所以,雖然本質上說,大陸並沒有說你真的說了甚麼了然後就一定把你怎麼樣, 其實也沒有這麼危言聳聽、有那麼惡劣。但是心裡面總會有一點擔心,這種擔心,或者說,這種顧慮,就本身會導致你生活上增加了那麼一點點負擔。但是這種負擔呢,在心裡面又是,總是處於一種很壓抑的狀態,會導致一種不舒服。

……當時在O CAMP很灰暗的一段經歷。就是你很想融入,但是很難,就是包括你心理上的調整也很難。就所以……但那個之後,可能就是大家慢慢去學會了那種語言,然後你又有機會跟別人溝通,就包括你就是可以用普通話和英文跟人家去溝通的時候,你可能會慢慢的消除一些誤解或者消除當時那種就是自卑的感覺。但是像後來其實我們是不是真正融入到,就比如說香港同學的那個圈子裡,其實也很難說……

我記得那個時候內地呢,你帶紅領巾上學啊,你國民教育啊,你共產黨那套呢,你是讀書的去讀咯,就是你係要buy這套的,讀書去讀。嗯,但是不需要你daily life去practice呢一個,共產黨的精神。它只不過是好像一件……就是有些科目呢,你讀了是為了考試。可能以前聖經科啊那樣,讀了就單單為了考試,你不會說真的daily practice聖經那樣。就是都是這樣咯,就是你只不過是一個正常的人那樣生活咯,共黨是完全不會影響到你的生活的。

就是我知道很多香港人都不喜歡很多Mainlander的一些behaviour,所以我覺得我潛意識都會有一種感覺就是如果我跟香港人一起的話,我希望,就是不會讓他們感覺到我跟他們有甚麼不一樣。最基本的,例如我不會是他們心目中所想的uncivilised的Mainlander。

MOBILITY

Winner

Wei Leng Tay - The Other Shore

Biography

Working predominantly with photography, sound and video, Wei Leng Tay’s practice considers how socio-economics, history, family and the state intersect with memory and notions of displacement and self-identity. She has collaborated and exhibited with institutions and organisations such as the Australian National University CIW Gallery, National University of Singapore (NUS) Museum, Vasl Artists’ Collective, Pakistan, Fukuoka Asian Art Museum, and ARTER Space for Art, Istanbul. Tay has been a recipient of awards such as the Poynter Fellowship through Yale School of Art and the National Arts Council Singapore’s Art Creation Fund. Her work forms part of public and private collections including those of the National University of Singapore (NUS) Museum; National Taiwan Museum of Fine Art; Fukuoka Asian Art Museum, Japan; Heritage Museum, Hong Kong, and Kiyosato Museum of Photographic Arts, Japan.

Project Statement

Young Mainland Chinese have been migrating to Hong Kong from across China, leaving their homes because of family business, or in search of better education and career prospects. They find themselves in majority Chinese yet increasingly tense environments, often confronting entrenched ideas regarding ‘Mainlanders’. Working with young professional or student Mainland Chinese in their twenties and early thirties who are reflective of the surge in this particular immigrant demographic in the last decade, through interactions that culminate in audio interviews and photography, Tay sought to move beyond the stereotypical binary of Hong Kong versus China.

Beginning with her own identity as a migrant in Hong Kong, Tay asks of how these movements affect how one conceives of one self – how national and family histories and narratives converge with one’s memory, how everyday relationships affect us, how contemporary conditions, be they social, economic or political, create a discordant interiority, and how all these shape us. The imagery and audio text are presented unlinked, in layers that create different contexts for looking and listening, and in this way consider the mutability of these identities in transition that underlie the complex relationship between Hong Kong and China.

Excerpts of voices in project:

(Translated from Cantonese) …after they have been here for long enough, they forget. In my opinion, I feel my uncle has forgotten, my mum too. So then they take an entirely different position from Mainland Chinese on everything, and this adds to the sense of distance Hong Kong feels from China. Even people who were previously intimately tied to China will think they are different from Mainland Chinese, assuming ‘I am not the same as them’—as if they are watching the fire from the other shore…

You could say, the city has returned, but the heart has not.

(Translated from Mandarin) …it’s that they don’t really understand China. They don’t understand the level of vision and aptitude of our generation, which has undergone brainwashing but for whom it hasn’t worked. There isn’t enough interaction between us. Because of this, the two-way discrimination, added to the government’s own stupid on so many policies, there are fewer and fewer chances for interaction and understanding. If this is the case, then there isn’t much point in me staying here. When I came to Hong Kong, my goal was to become a global citizen. But I now realize that I’ve still ended up being a so-called citizen of the People’s Republic of China anyway…

(Translated from Cantonese) …I used to wonder—what am I doing here… What kind of person am I when I’m here in Hong Kong. All the interactions one has with the city—work, entertainment, friends, I had none of that. Besides having mum here, I lived like a solitary island. Back then, I struggled more with these issues, wondering whether I wanted to return to Hong Kong in the future. But later, perhaps as I grew up, I felt … it doesn’t really matter if I assimilate. As long as you have your own life, it’s fine; you don’t have to force yourself to become a “normal” Hong Konger…

(Translated from Mandarin) …My dad was in the army, so when I was born he wasn’t around… Initially, my mum was a government official in the township women’s department. She would go around to villages and give talks to raise women’s cultural awareness. Actually, I‘m not really sure—to me “women’s work” sounds rather abstract… When I still lived at home… I wasn’t so interested in family and marriage because I didn’t know what it was. But since I’ve left home, especially in Hong Kong, I’ve been able to slowly step out of my mum’s shadow. I can experience things and think about what I want, and feel things that are coming from me…

(Translated from Mandarin) …Since I was a child, I was taught in school not to participate in political debates, and to avoid all political activities. I felt that if I participated, something bad would happen. In time this has slowly become a kind of habit. I’ve become afraid…afraid of creating any negative outcomes for myself.

Although the state doesn’t explicitly say that if you speak out they will do something to you, in my heart there is a concern, and this worry creates a burden that wears my heart down, making me always uneasy…

(Translated from Mandarin) …The orientation camp was a very dark period for me. I really wanted to fit in, but it was very difficult, and it was very difficult to adjust psychologically also. So… After that, after learning Cantonese we could use that, with Mandarin and English, and we felt that we could communicate and do away with the misunderstandings and feelings of low self-esteem. But did we really assimilate, for example, into our Hong Kong classmates’ circles, I am not really sure…

(Translated from Cantonese) …I remember when I was in China, wearing the red scarf to school, studying patriotic things. When you learnt about Communism, it was all part of your studies, but it wasn’t something you needed to practice in your daily life, like the Communist spirit. It’s just a subject, like something you study for an exam. Perhaps it’s like Bible studies was. You don’t really practice what is said in the Bible everyday. It’s just like that. You still lead your life as a regular person; the Communist Party didn’t affect your life at all….

(Translated from Cantonese) …I know that many Hong Kongers don’t like certain behaviours of Mainlanders, so I feel that if I am with Hong Kongers, I hope I will not let them feel that I am different from them. At least, I will not be like their idea of an uncivilized Mainlander.