機遇

Finalist

葉建邦 - 說穿了你

葉建邦 報紙重拍
葉建邦 報紙重拍
葉建邦 報紙重拍
葉建邦 報紙重拍
葉建邦 報紙重拍
葉建邦 報紙重拍
葉建邦 報紙重拍
葉建邦 報紙重拍
葉建邦 報紙重拍
葉建邦 報紙重拍

個人履歷

葉建邦,混合媒介藝術家,1989 年生於香港,2013 年畢業於香港浸會大學視覺藝術院。其創作常出現搜集,閱讀,分類,梳理及整合的處理,亦慣常以拼貼及集成的方式呈現,透過將事件、物件和時間串連,以戲謔的方式諷刺所身處的荒謬世界。

項目說明

身處於攝影氾濫的智能手機時代,大眾拍攝與觀看照片的過程皆縮至極短。在目光長期放在螢幕的時代,如何閲讀相片變得更為重要。影像的意義不在其本身,而是如何閱讀「真實」,讓人注意到照片與照片之間的關係。甚至乎需要透過收集、梳理、整合,再去觀看影像,可以發現攝影出其不意地反映人性矛盾的機遇。

 

由2014年始,我一直蒐集報紙上的犯罪報道,經常發現黑布蒙頭疑犯被捕,或重組案情的照片。疑犯身穿的Print-Tee與被捕的情境形成矛盾諷刺的時刻。人們有意或無意地透過身穿的衣服,在生活場所流動,表達信念或宣揚訊息,卻碰上了一個尷尬的情況。相片裏面的符號、文字都是真的,但加起來就變得曖昧,讓觀者疑惑。真正的真實是矛盾和無法被看見的。

OPPORTUNITY

Finalist

Kin Bon YIP - The day you put me on

Kin Bon YIP Retaking newspaper
Kin Bon YIP Retaking newspaper
Kin Bon YIP Retaking newspaper
Kin Bon YIP Retaking newspaper
Kin Bon YIP Retaking newspaper
Kin Bon YIP Retaking newspaper
Kin Bon YIP Retaking newspaper
Kin Bon YIP Retaking newspaper
Kin Bon YIP Retaking newspaper
Kin Bon YIP Retaking newspaper

Biography

Mixed media artist Yip Kin Bon (b. 1989) was born and bred in Hong Kong. He received his BA degree from the Academy of Visual Arts, Hong Kong Baptist University in 2013. His works feature a variety of approaches that include collecting, reading, sorting and integrating, which are often presented in forms of collage. He rearranges the context of incidents, objects and time to reflect the absurdity of this world. He currently lives and works in Hong Kong.

Project Statement

In an age of overwhelming, hyper-digitised, cell-phone photography, the time we spend taking photos and looking at them has dwindled to a bare minimum. Since our eyes are always on the screen, how we read an image is increasingly important. The meaning of an image doesn’t lie in the image itself, but in how the ‘reality’ and relationships between images are being interpreted and understood. Sometimes the discovery of the unintentional nuances of human nature hidden in images might require efforts of gathering, organising, and synthesising photographic information.

 

Since early 2014, I have been collecting criminal reportage from newspapers. The image of suspects, always hooded, during an arrest or in an investigation often appears in the reports. There is a sharp contrast between the circumstances of an arrest and the casual tees the suspects are wearing. What people wear in everyday situations, which may or may not intentionally express certain messages, creates an embarrassing tension. The symbols in these images are real; the text is real too. But when they come together, the sum is ambivalent. This is where confusion arises: our actual reality is paradoxical and invisible.