MOBILITY ‧ Masters

WMA Masters 2016/17 – Mobility Announcement of Finalists

WMA Masters is pleased to announce the six finalists for its 2016/17 award on Mobility.


The six finalists are (listed in no particular order):

Weilun CHONG – Please Mind the Gap

Billy H C KWOK – From Transit to New Lives

LAM Yik Fei – Along The Hong Kong Border

LEE Wing Ki – Tsang’s Odyssey

Wei Leng TAY – The Other Shore

Kurt TONG – Threads of Sisterhood


All works highlight the issue of MOBILITY in the context of Hong Kong. Finalists’ photographic works will be exhibited at the Comix Home Base mid-April 2017. A full-colour catalogue will be published to coincide with the exhibition. Hong Kong based C&G Artpartment will curate the exhibition while the WMA will host a series of public engagement activities during the exhibition period. The winner of the WMA Masters will be announced at the exhibition of finalists’ works in April 2017.

The WMA Masters’ international panel of judges is comprised of industry leaders in photography, art, publishing, and non-profit. They include Zoher ABDOOLCARIM, MaryAnn CAMILLERI, Abby CHEN, Kevin WY LEE, LEUNG Po-Shan Anthony, Christopher PHILLIPS, Theme Judge Paul ZIMMERMAN.

The WYNG Media Award (WMA) was created to engage the public and promote positive changes through impactful images of critical Hong Kong issues. WMA also highlights international and Hong Kong photographic and artistic talent with a social purpose. The WMA programmes include: WMA Masters, WMA Open, WMA Commission as well as WMA Student.

Every June, WMA Masters invites Hong Kong and international artists and image-makers to submit their photo-based work about Hong Kong and on a specific theme chosen by the organisers for the annual WMA Masters. An international panel of judges pick out the winner and the work of all finalists are exhibited.Themes have included Poverty, Air, Waste, Identity and this year it is Mobility.

This year’s supporting organisation is the Arts with the Disabled Association Hong Kong.

The WMA Masters theme for 2017/18 is TRANSITION.