家 ‧ 委託計劃

姚尚勤:逐格逐像

Exhibition Period
Jan 25 - Mar 31, 2024
Exhibition date and time
Thu to Sun, 12:00pm - 7:00pm
Exhibition Place
WMA Space

2024 年WMA 將深入探究雙年度主題「家」,率先發佈全新委託項目「逐格逐像」。生於香港、現居芬蘭的姚尚勤,以攝影和數碼影像的藝術實踐,探索人對家的感官記憶。過去一年,姚氏將其桌上的81個日常物件數碼化,意圖以此作為重塑家的起點。但家的回憶真的能夠複製嗎?數碼科技複製出的無塵空間與潔淨物件,毫無細菌的侵蝕、味道的醞釀、以至時間流逝的痕跡,難以捕捉與「家」相繫的各種記憶。一系列全新的作品,呈現姚氏對影像複製技術的質疑,以及人們不由自主地尋找、重塑或複製一個「家」的衝動和渴望。

展覽由官綺雲策展,並於1月25日下午5時舉辦一場策展人導賞。開幕典禮則於6-8時舉行。

策展概念請詳見:https://wma.hk/zh/article/curatorial-statement-everything-is-a-projection/


8/2 (Thu)
7pm - 8pm 藝術家座談:數碼世界,無望之家  

由姚尚勤及官綺雲主講 (英文)

在此對談中,姚尚勤將分享他對科技的侷限性以及家的無地方性 (placelessness) 所作的探究和反思。姚氏作為一位研究影像並常以數碼科技作實踐的藝術家,亦將探討計算機科學中有關寫實主義的論述,以及圍繞「物理世界是否能被翻譯成演算法和程式」所產生的爭議,從而延伸出一個更深入的課題──我們對歸屬感的想法如何被「觀看」本身的價值與觀念潛而默化?

預留座位

24/2 (Sat)
11am - 12pm 香氣工作坊|家的氣味  

由官綺雲及 BeCandle 帶領(廣東話)

藝術家姚尚勤在其《逐格逐像》錄像文章中提出,氣味是建立歸屬感不可或缺的要素,而數碼技術在空間的再現上則往往忽視了此點。在這個工作坊,策展人官綺雲和本地香氛品牌 BeCandle 的團隊將引領參與者探索香氣與記憶,一同塑造專屬家的獨有氣味。

關於 BeCandle: https://www.becandle.com.hk/pages/about-us

預留位置

Home ‧ Commission

Sheung Yiu: everything is a projection

Exhibition Period
Jan 25 - Mar 31, 2024
Exhibition date and time
Thu to Sun, 12:00pm - 7:00pm
Exhibition Place
WMA Space

WMA continues its exploration of the biennial theme “Home” in 2024 and presents the latest commissioned project “everything is a projection” by artist Sheung Yiu. Born in Hong Kong and currently based in Finland, Yiu explores sensory memories of home through his photographic and digital imaging practice. Over the past year, Yiu has digitised 81 objects on his table, as a starting point to reconstruct his home. But can memories of home truly be replicated? The sterile spaces and pristine objects created by digital technology strip away the erosion of bacteria, the lingering scents, and even the traces of the passage of time, making it difficult to capture the various memories associated with “home”. A series of new works presents Yiu’s questioning of replication technology, as well as one’s impulse and longing to find, recreate, or replicate a “home”. 

The exhibition is curated by Yeewan Koon. On January 25, there will be a curator-led tour at 5 PM, followed by an opening ceremony from 6 to 8 PM. 

For curatorial statement, please visit: https://wma.hk/article/curatorial-statement-everything-is-a-projection/


8/2 (Thu)
7pm - 8pm Artist Talk | Digital Worlds, Impossible Homes  

Conducted by Sheung Yiu and Yeewan Koon in English

In this artist conversation, Sheung Yiu will be sharing some of his research and thoughts on the limits of technology and the way placeless-ness can be a condition of home. As an image-centric artist who often works with digital technology, Sheung will also be discussing the discourse of realism in computer science and issues and debates surrounding the (im)possibility of translation of the physical world into algorithms and codes. This also leads to a further question–What are some of the ways our perceptions or values related to looking have shifted how we think through ideas of belongings?

Reserve your seats

24/2 (Sat)
11am - 12pm Perfume Workshop | Smells Like Home  

Led by Yeewan Koon and BeCandle in Cantonese

In this workshop, curator Yeewan Koon and the team from local perfumer BeCandle will guide participants through an exploration of scent and memory. Continuing Yiu’s thinking from his video essay Everything is a Projection, that digital recreation of spaces often neglects the crucial importance of scent in creating a sense of belonging, participants will get a chance to create a custom scent that reminds them of home.

More about BeCandle: https://www.becandle.com.hk/pages/about-us

Reserve your seats