「檔案X當代紀實攝影」

Exhibition Period
Jun 03, 2020
Exhibition date and time
Wed to Wed, 晚上7時 - 晚上9時
Exhibition Place
線上直播

 

所有攝影均具有檔案的性質,但檔案卻不僅以影像方式存在。當攝影師、藝術家把檔案轉化成影像並穿插在紀實攝影的敘事當中時,檔案與其他紀實圖像如何交集 (或交織)、構成甚或延伸作品的意義?檔案與紀實攝影並置,又如何影響攝影的真實性和歷史性? 當檔案以紀實以外的方法演繹時,作者的考量又是甚麼?

「檔案 X 當代紀實攝影」講座邀請台灣影像研究學者專家郭力昕教授及攝影師Billy H.C. Kwok 和李泳麒,一起探討以上的問題。討論將以由Magnum Foundation支持Billy的白色恐怖創作計劃——《最後的信件 》以及李泳麒的《曾老漂流記》和《褪攝影》系列為起點, 繼而延伸至香港、台灣兩地在檔案影像、歷史記憶和身份政治的相互影響和異同進行探索。講座將以中文進行。

 

講者嘉賓簡介: 

 

郭力昕教授

郭力昕,英國倫敦大學金匠學院(Goldsmiths)媒體與傳播系博士,現任台灣政治大學傳播學院教授兼院長。曾任各類年度新聞攝影獎、紀錄片競賽、國藝會「國家文藝獎」(電影類)、「華語電影金馬獎」、「台北電影獎」、香港「華語紀錄片節」、香港「鮮浪潮國際短片節」等評審委員,並自2003年起擔任「台北電影節」諮詢委員迄今。著作包括《書寫攝影:相片的文本與文化》(1998)、《再寫攝影》(2013)、《真實的叩問:紀錄片的政治與去政治》(2014)、《製造意義:現實主義攝影的話語、權力與文化政治》(2018)等。

 

Billy H.C. Kwok

Billy H.C. Kwok是駐香港及台灣兩地的的攝影師,曾任文字記者。他是土生土長的香港人,見證着香港主權由英國移交至中國。他的作品深受到這些「泛華」地區及其擴展地區的故事所啟發。他的長期項目是調查台灣的政治禁忌、受隱藏的歷史和回憶,因而被選為2018年Magnum Foundation Fellow和獲得2019年Magnum Foundation的基金資助。他的作品關注香港政權移交後的社會狀況,呈現中港關係中根深蒂固的權力矛盾。

Billy現活躍於香港、台灣和中國等地。除平面攝影外,他還對多媒體故事闡述作行創作。

 

李泳麒

李泳麒為香港攝影工作者。香港大學文學院學士,主修藝術史。及後獲英國志奮領獎學金前往倫敦藝術大學倫敦傳媒學院深造新聞暨紀實攝影。李氏攝影作品曾在奧地利、德國、香港、日本、拉脫維亞、台灣及英國展出。作品以歷史、文獻及藝術本位研究方法出發,探索照片歷史的文化和技術予當下的應用及可能性。紀實攝影作品《曾老飄流記》入圍2017/18年WMA 大師攝影獎 「過渡」,概念影像裝置《色褪せた》參展2019日本京都國際寫真祭。李氏亦為影像歷史及視覺文化研究工作者,編輯期刊及研究文章散見於本地博物館、畫廊、華文藝文雜誌以及國際學術文獻。李氏現為香港浸會大學視覺藝術院助理教授暨本科課程總監,並為香港獨立藝術空間 1a space 策展團隊成員之一。

 

圖片/ Ho Wing Ka,《Trajectory》WMA Open照片庫


1/1 (Thu)
-  

講座邀請了台灣影像研究學者專家郭力昕教授及攝影師Billy H.C. Kwok 和李泳麒一起探討是次題目。討論將以由Magnum Foundation支持Billy的白色恐怖創作計劃——《最後的信件》以及李泳麒的《曾老漂流記》和《褪攝影》系列為起點, 繼而延伸至香港、台灣兩地在檔案影像、歷史記憶和身份政治的相互影響和異同進行探索。

Documentary Photography x Archives

Exhibition Period
Jun 03, 2020
Exhibition date and time
Wed to Wed, 7pm - 9pm
Exhibition Place
Online live broadcast

All forms of photography are acts of archiving, yet not all archives are in the form of photography. When artists shuttle between factual documentation and subjective storytelling, when they transform archival records into creative works, in what ways do those two spectrums integrate?  How are the works constructed? And what derivative values do those works bring?  

When exploring archives and documentary photography in parallel, how will the notions of truth and history affect one’s treatment to photography?  And how will the subject of authorship be considered when interpreting archives?

In this talk, titled ‘Documentary Photography x Archives’,  photographers Billy H.C. Kwok and Lee Wing Ki will join Taiwan-based image scholar Kuo Li-Hsin to discuss these questions.  Using Kwok’s Magnum Foundation supported project Last Letters, A Photographic Investigation of Taiwan White Terror and Lee’s works Tsang’s Odyssey and Faded as departure points, the talk will explore mutual influences between Hong Kong and Taiwan in terms of archive images, historical memory and identity politics. The talk will be conducted in Chinese.

 

Speakers:

Kuo, Li-Hsin

Kuo, Li-Hsin received his PhD in Media and Cultural Studies from Goldsmiths College, University of London.  He is currently Professor & Dean of College of Communication, National Chengchi University, Taiwan. His juror experiences for film competitions include Golden Horse Award, Taipei Film Festival, Chinese Documentary Festival, Fresh Wave Short Film Festival, Hong Kong. He is also a frequent juror for various photojournalist competitions. His publications include Writing Photography (1998), More Writings on Photography (2013), Interrogating Reality: politics and de-politicisation of documentary film (2014), and Manufacturing Meaning: discourse, power and cultural politics in realist photography (2018).

 

Billy H.C. Kwok

Billy H.C. Kwok is a Hong Kong-Taiwan based photographer who began his career as a newspaper journalist before pursuing his photographic career. He grew up in Hong Kong and witnessed its transition from the British to the Chinese regime. His works are inspired by The wealth of stories in the “Pan-Chinese” region and its extended areas. He was a Magnum Foundation Fellow in 2018, and a Magnum Foundation Fund Grantee in 2019 for his long-term project investigating Taiwan’s political taboos, hidden histories and memories. His works also cover his hometown’s contemporary conditions after the Handover, a legacy of deep-rooted power structures of Hong Kong-China relations.

Billy now splits his time between Hong Kong, Taiwan and China. Apart from making still images, he also create multimedia storytelling works both individually and collaboratively.​

 

Lee Wing Ki

Lee Wing Ki is an artist-researcher in photography based in Hong Kong. He read history of art at the University of Hong Kong and receives a MA in Photojournalism and Documentary Photography at London College of Communication, University of the Arts London, supported by a British Chevening Scholarship. His photography projects were exhibited in Austria, Germany, Hong Kong, Japan, Latvia, Taiwan and the UK. His artistic practice lies between documentary photography, artistic and archival research, and a contemporary take to analogue photographic practice. Major exhibitions include ‘Tsang’s Odyssey’ for WMA Masters 2017/18 and ‘Faded’ KG+ SELECT, Kyotographie 2019. His researches are published in museum monograph, gallery text, academic journal and etc. He is currently the Assistant Professor in photography cum Undergraduate Programme Director at the Academy of Visual Arts, Hong Kong Baptist University and a curatorial member of 1a space, an independent art space in Hong Kong.

 

Image/ Ho Wing Ka, Trajectory from WMA Open archive