網上專家點評會 | 19.09.20 (六)

Exhibition Period
Sep 19, 2020
Exhibition date and time
Sat to Sat, 上午9時 - 下午5時半
Exhibition Place
WMA Space / 網上

公開報名 | 網上專家點評會 | 19.09.20 (六)

 

截止報名:09.09.20 (三), 11 pm

 

WMA 於今個九月,與兩位國際攝影專家以網上形式進行「專家點評會」(Portfolio Review)。點評會專為希望進一步發展主題性攝影作品,或聽取專業圖輯編選意見的攝影師和藝術家而設。

 

是次點評會的專家包括:

Scott Dietrich, 獨立教育者、學者及攝影師

曹良賓,藝術家、策展人、Lightbox 攝影圖書室創辦人

 

歡迎申請者以各類型的攝影作品報名參加。入選者將於指定的日子親臨WMA Space,可與其中一位專家進行網上點評會面,每節時間為30分鐘,以英文及中文進行。

 

點評時段:

919日(六)上午9:00 12:30 Scott Dietrich(共7位)

919日(六)下午1:30 5:30 曹良賓 (共8位)

 

人數:15

地點: WMA Space

 

是次活動只有15位名額,其中4位保留予WMA歷屆攝影師。 (名額有限,敬請見諒。)

 

申請者須提交以下資料:

  1.  選取自最多兩個作品系列的10-15張圖片
  2.  簡短的英語作品說明及個人簡介
  3.  作品圖檔:JPG72dpi、邊長最寬2000px
  4.  除點評作品外,請上載至少兩張圖像至WMA Open影像庫 (https://submit.wmaopen.org/zh/gallery.php),並截圖所上載的圖片與申請一併提交
  5.  截止報名:99日(三)晚上11點前於 https://bit.ly/3hyxcvh 或電郵至[email protected] 遞交申請

 

入選者將於914日(一)接獲通知。是次點評會為免費活動並由WMA資助,入選者需親臨WMA Space參加一對一網上點評會。

 

如有查詢,請聯絡WMA[email protected]

 

點評會專家(以英文姓氏排序)

 

Scott Dietrich

Scott Dietrich是名獨立教育家、學者及攝影師,現於美國芝加哥工作及生活。他曾於高中、畫廊、博物館、商業藝術及攝影有長達20年的經驗。

他因善用20年代初中國、日本及東南亞的植物園的相片檔案,成就了多個研究項目及出版,於2017年獲得哈佛大學阿諾德植生園的Sargent獎學金(Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University)。現於芝加哥藝術學院擔任兼職教授。

 

曹良賓

曹良賓居於台北,從事影像創作、Lightbox攝影圖書室負責人。美國紐約普拉特藝術學院藝術 創作碩士。曾獲選文化部紐約駐村創作計劃、普拉特藝術學院獎學金、傅爾布萊特獎助學金等。近期創作計劃《Becoming / Taiwanese》嘗試在轉型正義的視角角下,突顯殖⺠民歷史、國族認同與價值意識之間的張力關係,並追索其中的社會和文化意涵。

除創作之外,曹良賓亦致力於公共服務、藝文文推廣並關注開放文化。現擔任「國家攝影資產搶救及建置攝影文化中心計劃」諮詢委員、於台灣內外各藝文機構進行影像教育活動。2016年成立 「Lightbox攝影圖書室」,致力於匯集整理台灣的攝影出版物。期望以社會參與的方式,共建和共享台灣攝影,逐步邁向文化自主、知識自由,以及更加開放共融的社群。


19/9 (Sat)
9am - 5:30pm

Online Portfolio Review | 19.09.20 (Sat)

Exhibition Period
Sep 19, 2020
Exhibition date and time
Sat to Sat, 9am - 5:30pm
Exhibition Place
WMA Space / Online

Call for Photographers | Online Portfolio Review | 19.09.20 (Sat)

 

Application deadline : 09.09.20 (Wed), 11 pm

 

WMA is delighted to facilitate a round of online portfolio review with two international photography experts this September. These sessions will be particularly helpful for photographers looking to edit or further develop a body of work of a consistent theme.

 

The reviewers include:

 Scott Dietrich, independent educator, scholar, and photographer

 Tsao Liang-Pin, artist, curator and founder of Lightbox Photo Library

 

Each participant will come to WMA Space to have a 30 minute session to discuss their work with a reviewer online on a scheduled date. The workshop will be conducted in English and Chinese. All types of photography are welcomed.

 

Review schedules:

 19 Sept Saturday, 9 am-12:30 pm, Scott Dietrich (7 reviewees)

 19 Sept Saturday, 1:30-5:30 pm, Tsao Liang-Pin (8 reviewees)

 

Capacity: 15 participants

Venue: WMA Space

 

We can receive a maximum of 15 participants, with up to four places reserved for WMA alumni.

 

How to apply:

  1. Select 10-15 images from up to 2 projects
  2. Prepare a short description of your body of work and a short biography
  3. File formatting: JPG, 72dpi, 2000px longest edge
  4. Contribute at least two images of yours to WMA Open, our online image archive (https://open.wma.hk/submission), and include a screenshot of this upload in the application
  5. Please submit by 11pm on 9 Sept (Wed) via https://bit.ly/3hyxcvh or email to [email protected] at the latest

Selected applicants will be notified by 14 Sept (Mon). The cost for these portfolio reviews is fully subsidised by WMA.

 

Please note that the reviewees are required to attend the session in person at WMA space.

 

For any enquiries, please reach us at [email protected]

 

Reviewers (in alphabetical order)

 

Scott Dietrich

Scott Dietrich is an independent educator, scholar, and photographer currently living and working in Chicago. He has worked in the higher education, gallery, museum, and commercial fields of photography and fine art for the past 20 years. 

He was a 2017 Sargent Fellow at the Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University where he utilized the Arboretum’s extensive holdings of early 20th century photographic archives of China, Japan and Southeast Asia to develop new research projects and generate publications. He is currently an adjunct faculty at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago.

 

Tsao Liang-Pin 

Tsao Liang-Pin is an artist based in Taipei, Taiwan. He holds an M.F.A. from Pratt Institute, and his work has exhibited internationally. Liang is a recipient of the Fulbright Grant, a New York Residency Program sponsored by the Ministry of Culture Taiwan. His recent works investigates the relational tension between national history, transitional justice and value awareness, and their socio-cultural significance. 

Liang also devotes himself to educational and curatorial affairs, and has presented lectures, workshops and curations at Taipei Fine Art Museum, Museum of Contemporary Art Taipei, Taipei Artist Village. In 2016, he established Lightbox Photo Library, a non-for-profit organization, which is free and open to all, and employed as a method to achieve cultural autonomy, intellectual freedom and a more inclusive community. 


19/9 (Sat)
9am - 5:30pm