家庭相冊: 個人記憶與社會歷史

Exhibition Period
Aug 19, 2020
Exhibition date and time
Wed to Wed, 晚上7時 - 晚上9時
Exhibition Place
線上直播

八月份的WMA Open 講座,「家庭相冊: 個人記憶與社會歷史」將會探討家庭相冊,一種大家皆熟悉的影像檔案。家庭相冊不單是紀錄家庭生活軌跡、充滿情感的個人記憶,它同時亦反照文化身份、社會歷史、乃至意識形態和權力關係的載體。

 

「家庭相冊: 個人記憶與社會歷史」講座邀請了兩位香港視覺藝術家劉衛唐景峰,分享他們如何從家庭相冊展開有關香港身份和歷史的探索旅程。主持人周佩霞邀請了DECK的共同創辦人及新加坡國際攝影節主席李錦麗,她曾以影像檔案作為2016年攝影節主題。

 

講座將以英文在Facebook進行,並於我們的YouTube進行廣東話即時傳譯:https://youtu.be/K_gdxWS_eSk

 

講者簡介 (依英文姓氏順序)
 
劉衛
 
劉衛出生於香港,目前於紐約和香港兩地工作和生活。作品透過攝影、錄像、繪畫和裝置探索有關於種族、性別和歸屬的概念在身份構成當中的多重結構。她試圖通過個人及歷史檔案、電影圖像、流行文化和數碼媒體來探索歷史、虛構敘事、個人記憶和虛擬性如何在身份凝塑的過程中互相碰撞並產生影響。
作品收藏於M+及休斯頓美術館內,於歐洲各地、亞洲及美國均有展出,包括Kunstmuseum Brandts、上海當代藝術博物館、Para Site、大館當代美術館、關渡雙年展、越後妻有大地藝術祭以及休斯頓美術館等。
 
李錦麗
 
李錦麗是新加坡國際攝影及新加坡非牟利攝影機構DECK的共同創辦人。她於東南亞致力推動攝影超過十年,發起多個項目及平台,為新晉攝影師提供機會。李錦麗在亞洲策劃過各種攝影展覽,,並被邀請為歐洲和亞洲各國的評委。2010年,她因對新加坡藝術界的貢獻,被提名並獲得了日本工商會文化獎。
 
唐景峰
 
唐景峰於2006年取得倫敦傳播學院紀實攝影碩士。於英國成長,開始由其華裔及家族背景取得靈感,創作個人作品。透過多層次的演繹方式,近期作品圍繞亞洲橋民、喪禮習俗及早期的中國婦女。唐景鋒新近作品保留攝影的本質之餘,並探索裝置及雕塑,嘗試超越不同媒體的界限。

19/8 (Wed)
晚上7時 - 晚上9時  

八月份的WMA Open 講座,「家庭相冊: 個人記憶與社會歷史」將會探討家庭相冊,一種大家皆熟悉的影像檔案。家庭相冊不單是紀錄家庭生活軌跡、充滿情感的個人記憶,它同時亦反照文化身份、社會歷史、乃至意識形態和權力關係的載體。

Family Albums: the Private Memories and Social History

Exhibition Period
Aug 19, 2020
Exhibition date and time
Wed to Wed, 7pm - 9pm
Exhibition Place
Online live broadcast

The next WMA Open Talk, titled ‘Family Albums: the Private Memories and Social History’ explores family albums, a kind of image archives that everybody would be familiar with. Family albums are personal memories filled with emotions. They are records of the daily lives of a family. However, they are also a reflection of a cultural identity and social history. Some may say that they are also a vehicle of the ideologies and power relations of different times.

 

In this talk, Hong Kong-based visual artists Wai Lau and Kurt Tong will share their creative processes that engage their family albums to examine the identity of Hong Kongers and the history of Hong Kong. Moderator Carol Chow has invited Gwen Lee, co-founder of DECK and Chair of the Singapore International Photography Festival who curated an exhibition in 2016 about visual archives as a respondent of the panel.

 

The talk will be conducted in English on our Facebook, with simultaneous interpretation in Cantonese on our YouTube channel: https://youtu.be/K_gdxWS_eSk
 
 
Speakers (in alphabetical order)
 
Lau Wai
 
Born in Hong Kong, Wai currently lives and works in New York and Hong Kong. Her work utilizes photography, video, drawing and installation exploring the multilateral constructions of identity in relation to race, gender and the notion of belonging. She attempts to investigate how history, fiction, personal memory and virtually collided in the process of identity formation through personal and historical archives, cinematic imagery, popular culture and digital media.
 
Her works are in the permanent collections at M+ and The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston. Her works have been exhibited in Europe, Asia and the United States, including Kunstmuseum Brandts, Power Station of Art, Para Site, Tai Kwun Contemporary, Kuandu Biennale, Echigo-Tsumari Art Triennale and The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston.
 
Gwen Lee
 
Gwen Lee is the co-founder of the Singapore International Photography Festival (SIPF) and DECK, a non-profit institution for photography in Singapore. For more than a decade she has championed photography in Southeast Asia by initiating projects and platforms for emerging and mid-career photographers. Lee has been a curator and jury member at photo festivals and institutions throughout Asia and Europe. In 2010 Lee received the Japanese Chamber of Commerce and Industry’s Culture Award for her contribution to the art.
 
Kurt Tong
 
Kurt Tong graduated with a Master’s degree in documentary photography at the London College of Communication in 2006. Having grown up in the UK, his work revolves around exploring his Chinese roots, his upbringing and understanding of his motherland. Using multilayered narratives, his recent work has dealt with the Asian Diaspora, funeral practices and early Chinese feminists.
Much of Kurt’s work, whilst still deeply rooted in photography, has incorporated other mediums, performative elements and audience participations. Pushing the possibility of photography as a narrative tool.

19/8 (Wed)
7pm - 9pm  

Our coming WMA Open Talk, titled Family Albums: the Private Memories and Social History’ explores family albums, a kind of image archives that everybody would be familiar with. Family albums are personal memories filled with emotions. They are records of the daily lives of a family. However, they are also a reflection of a cultural identity and social history. Some may say that they are also a vehicle of the ideologies and power relations of different times.