貧窮

勝出者

鄔南薰 / 斯特凡·坎漢 項目說明 個人履歷

項目說明

香港寸金尺土,低收入家庭因無法應付高昂的樓價和租金,只得窩居在環境惡劣,面積只得約一百呎的劏房,甚至只有廿餘呎的棺材房和籠屋,又或是室溫高得如蒸籠的天台屋。

部份家庭總收入少於八千元,但卻以多於收入的一半來租住蝸居。他們除了要緊縮開支,還需要面對生活上各種威脅,例如因劏房的電錶眾多而面對失火危機;後樓梯多用作儲物或放置垃圾,造成一旦發生火災妨礙逃生;衛生環境惡劣,更受到害蟲的威脅。

住在棺材房和籠屋的人士,大多對搬遷不抱希望,而亦因為目睹鄰居死在棺材房的情景,亦似乎已接受這同是自己的宿命。雖然如此,走訪十多個案例,大部分都懷著上樓的希望,每每遇有鄰居成功遷入公屋而羨慕不已,日盼夜盼,希望幸福終有天來臨。

個人履歷

從事攝影工作十一年,現為攝影記者,負責圖片故事和人物專訪,並以採訪亞洲新聞為主。他的鏡頭曾記錄了柬埔寨貧民窟眼科醫院、2011泰國水災、中國內蒙急速荒漠化危機、不斷惡 的北京PM2.5空氣污染問題,以及河南兒童毒疫苗悲劇。曾獲獎項包括:2007前線-焦點攝影比賽人物組冠軍、2002前線-焦點攝影比賽特寫組冠軍等。曾在2004年參與牛棚「圍講·維港」聯展。

項目說明

那裡沒有升降機,我們要爬八層的樓梯。走最後一段樓梯,喘不過氣時,我倆望著對方,禁不住猶豫:我們怎麼要到這裡來?

天台上,窄窄長長的通道穿插在金屬片、木板、磚塊或塑膠皮搭成的寮屋之間,形成迷宮似的空間。當中還有台階或梯子連接寮屋的上層。我們迷路了。Rufina拿著我們的單張,敲門,然後是一連串廣東話對答。Stefan這個外國人站在一旁,只是微笑,可不明白一字一句。對方聽罷,報以微笑,請我們進他們的家去。

後來,我們從對面的一幢大廈俯瞰這個天台。天台很大,一間一間的寮屋聚在一起,形成一條村落似的。那天台上住了三四十戶人家吧。從外頭又哪知道裡頭有些甚麼:他們會上網嗎?他們有洗手間嗎?當然,更無法知道他們的故事。

誰勾勒天台屋的模樣?誰給天台屋留下記錄?有時,報章會刊載一篇有關天台屋的報道或文章;有時,非政府組織會來一次跟天台屋有關的行動;有時,政府部門會為所謂的「違例建築工程」存檔,用不脫色箱頭筆給天台屋編號,並拍下照片。然而,這些檔案不會對外公開;居民或會一讀,為要知道何以要拆掉他們的家。天台屋居民鮮有記下自己的生活空間。看他們的家庭照,家人對著鏡頭微笑,背景可能是向日葵花間,可能是中國大陸某條村,可能是街上某人的汽車旁,就只不是他們的家。

再走那些樓梯。我們不再在通道中迷路了。我們弄懂居民如何改建和修葺他們的家。他們當中,有人在天台屋中住了二三十年,曾投入建設這個城市;近年,不少從中國大陸、東南亞,或巴基斯坦來的移民接下這個任務。七零年代,他們當中有人參與建造地下鐵路。現在,他們當中有人在高樓大廈的建築工地工作。

香港不少舊區都在重建。有些大廈看似搖搖欲墜,因為它們用了以鹹水攪拌的混凝土來建築;另一些大廈就要讓路給更高更能賺錢的大廈。很少天台屋居民介意入住新落成的高樓大廈,只是他們負擔不起。他們都怕被安置到偏遠的新市鎮,那裡謀生的機會可能更少,社區網絡也有限制。

我們再走那些樓梯。天台屋是都市傳奇,說的是香港的故事,是中國大陸政治巨變的故事,是市區重建的故事,是人們希望和城裡生活所需的故事。

個人履歷

鄔南薰,1980年於香港出生,在加拿大滑鐵盧大學取得環境研究和建築學位。2005至2006年,她是中國北京清華大學的中加學者交流項目訪問學者。其碩士論文《北京地下》,探討北京外省民工聚居地下防空洞的情況,研究獲得美國建築師學會獎章,並於加拿大、美國和德國展出。由2007年12月至2008年2月,她為香港藝鵠的駐場藝術工作者,與斯特凡‧坎漢合作「樓上風光」項目。此項目獲得2008年第五屆國際包浩斯獎,並結集成書,由柏林Peperoni及香港獨立出版社出版。作品曾於亞洲、歐洲、北美展覽,個展包括香港歌德學院與光影作坊攝影展(香港,2009), Kunsthaus (漢堡,2009),及湖濱中心(多倫多,2010)。她專注研究非正式的住屋方式,與急速都市發展和人口流動相關的課題。她目前在溫哥華生活。 斯特凡‧坎漢,1968年在英格蘭出生。他於德國漢堡藝術學院修讀電影,從1995年起當自由工作者,拍攝紀實照片和電視節目。其作品多關於都市空間的運用,尤專注於邊緣群體和各種自建住屋的課題。 2003年,他為德國北部艾斯弗爾德Schleswig-Holsteinisches Kunstlerhaus的駐場藝術工作者。他的德國流動佔屋文化記錄照片,入選2004年第三屆國際包浩斯獎,並由Peperoni Books(柏林)於2006輯錄成書Bauwagen / Mobile Squatters。他曾於德國及國外舉行展覽,並為不少期刊提供相片,如《An Architektur》(柏林)、《Critical Planning》(洛杉磯)和《Sarai Reader》(德里),《MONU》雜誌(鹿特丹)和 《Arhitext》 (布加勒斯特)。 2007年12月至2008年2月,他出任香港藝鵠的駐場藝術工作者,與鄔南薰合作「樓上風光」項目。此項目獲得2008年第五屆國際包浩斯獎,並結集成書,由柏林Peperoni及香港獨立出版社出版。作品曾於亞洲、歐洲、北美展覽,個展包括香港歌德學院與光影作坊攝影展(香港,2009), Kunsthaus (漢堡,2009),及湖濱中心(多倫多,2010)。項目主要部份曾於以下主題展覽展示,包括Coomaraswamy Hall 的Informal Cities (孟買 2009),Breda Photo (布雷達, 2010), 蘇黎世設計博物館的High-Rise – Idea and Reality (蘇黎世, 2010), Te Tuhi Centre for the Arts的Rapid Change (奧克蘭, 2011), 以及路德維希國際藝術論壇的The City that does not exist (亞琛, 2012)。多份雜誌亦曾節錄報導「樓上風光」的部分作品,包括《歐洲攝影》84期 (柏林, 2009), 《Ein Magazin über Orte》6期(柏林, 2009), 《加拿大建築雜誌》(多倫多, 2010),及《ARCH+》206/207期(亞琛, 2012)。 由2010- 2011年,斯特凡‧坎漢跟Nguyen Phuong-Dan合作,探訪曾在德國生活的越南移民的生活,輯錄成《German Vietnamese》一書,由柏林Peperoni 出版社發行。他目前在漢堡生活。


入圍作品

項目說明

如論貧窮,自小在貧窮家庭成長的我深深體會到缺錢的日子是如何過,用他人多餘棄用的物資已能被視為珍而重之的寶貝;長大後我一直非常佩服清潔工人的超乎常人能耐,覺得他們的工作雖然被視為低微但卻非常非常重要,如非他們這無名的一羣,實難想像香港社會的狀況;辛勞的在職貧窮,我想從他們的辦公室/休息室中了解他們的工作,紀實地反照出被忽略的一羣,但亦最值得被尊重的一羣,讓觀者思考施與受的狀況,反思真正的珍惜、尊重、平等。

個人履歷

陳嬋娟1995年畢業於李惠利工業學院設計文憑(視覺傳達),1998年獲香港理工大學攝影設計學(榮譽)文學士,及於2007年獲香港城市大學媒體設計及科技藝術碩士。 她的作品曾在英國、日本、中國及香港等地展出。曾參加展覽及放映會包括:「藝術推廣辦事處:油街12之試鏡 I 網上展覽及香港國際藝術展12」(2012)、「下一代的攝影照片—新進獲選作品展」日本清里寫真美術館(2003)、「英國皇家攝影學會第146屆國際攝影賽」英國巡迴展 (2003-04)、「19對眼睛中的19人生」紀錄片公眾放映會 (2004)、「第二屆國際大學生影視和新媒體作品展評」得獎作品放映會 (2004)等。 她曾獲得香港攝影師協會1999年獎銀獎及2001年獎銅獎、英國皇家攝影學會銀勳章 (2003)及「第二屆國際大學生影視和新媒體作品展評」優秀紀錄片獎 (2004)。作品獲日本清里寫真美術館、香港文化博物館及私人收藏。

項目說明

北角,如香港其他的區域,面臨急速的轉變,亦變得越來越高檔。以往這個以勞動階層為主的小社區,那些年代久遠的建築及傳統小店漸被豪宅及集團連鎖商店所取代。持續上漲的租金加上市區重建,許多老街坊被迫搬遷。此攝影項目繼園里的街坊便屬此社群。 北角一向是移民的聚腳地﹣由50年代富裕的上海人,到60年代移居南洋的福建人,都愛住在北角。現時遷入者多為內地新移民和居港外籍人士。無論是新移民、舊街坊、窮人、藍領、中產、外籍人士,都聚居在那些市區隨處可見、密密麻麻的單幢建築。 正如銅鑼灣、旺角、西營盤等新舊建築交替的社區,北角特色在於單幢高層住宅樓宇,混雜商業大廈及唐樓。從建築物的外表難以看透內裡居民的生活狀況。經濟現實亦驅使建築物不斷被變更使用用途,改建成幾代同堂的大單位、單身人士住所或者劏房蝸居。 「北角」這個攝影項目,紀錄區內居民的生活及住所,見證社區的變遷和區內移民歷史。項目聚焦於家庭、個人以及公共空間,和社會經濟環境的相互關係,以探討樓價日益上漲,香港生活倍加困難的處境。

個人履歷

鄭瑋玲(1978年生於新加坡),擅於探索在不同社會政治背景下,被攝對象的關係、生活考慮和方式的變化。她曾於日本福岡市亞洲美術館、印尼萬隆藝術空間、新加坡國家博物館、曼谷朱拉隆功大學藝術學院、新加坡國立大學博物館展出作品,亦曾參與荷蘭格羅寧根國際攝影節、羅馬國際攝影節、德國萊比錫F/Stop國際攝影節、西班牙攝影節和印度新德里攝影節等。她的作品亦被日本清里攝影藝術博物館、香港文化博物館和福岡市亞洲美術館收藏。

項目說明

這項創作的主體是探索一個簡單的問題,怎樣才算是貧窮?

這並不是用情感分析什麼是窮人,而是比較窮人在生活上有什麼選擇。項目與經濟學家林惠義聯合進行,確保收集的數據準確,現正擴大到六大洲,包括香港在內的16個國家城市。我們不是試圖比較不同國家的貧困狀況,而是在同一個起點上,了解一個國家的貧困境況。對於已發展國家,由於較易更新消費數據,我們主要集中比較,生活在貧窮線上的人,平均每人每日花費在食物上的金額。

一個框架。一個人。一天。

一切留待觀眾來解讀。

港幣$44.96元(美金$5.77, 歐元£4.01)可以買到幾多食物?這是根據香港每月住戶入息中位數一半以下所推算出來的貧窮線,再換算生活在貧窮線上的人(即低收入戶),一人一日可購買食物的開支。 目前香港未有官方貧窮線,不過相關工作已交由2012年12月重設的扶貧委員會跟進。 政府現時以24個多元化指標來分析貧窮數據,不單計算個人收入,同時考慮教育開支以及兒童所受的社會支持度等數據。相關數據主要由香港統計處所進行的綜合住戶統計調查,以及從社會福利署收集。香港社會服務聯會一直關注本港貧窮及社福等議題,並致力協調非牟利社福機構的相互合作。 附註: 相關價格及兌換率,乃根據拍攝相片當日 (2011年七月)而釐訂。

個人履歷

趙峰很榮幸能透過鏡頭來觀察世界,他是一位眼光獨到兼感情豐富的攝影師。

趙峰與經濟學家林惠義合作的貧窮線項目,贏得阿爾勒攝影沙龍大獎,並曾出任阿爾勒國際攝影節常駐藝術家。他的作品於北京三影堂攝影藝術中心、檳城、新加坡及科隆等畫廊展出。此項目獲多份媒體報導,包括美國國家公共廣播電台、外交政策、新華社和新加坡商業時報等。趙峰獲邀在2012 [email protected]上海論壇演講,介紹貧窮線項目。

他曾經榮獲PDN、Billboard、國際攝影大獎(International Photo Awards)、Photographie de la Paris 等攝影獎項,亦是在東京進行的尼康(Nikon)攝影比賽評判。他的客戶包括The Smithsonian、時代雜誌、Geo Germany、英國衛報以及其他商業客戶。

趙峰25歲登上全球最高的珠穆朗瑪峰,亦是探索家協會的成員。

他在北京及新加坡生活。

項目說明

若將「貧窮」介定為物質上「溫飽不足」,香港可能真的沒有多少「窮人」,然而這樣理解明顯與整個社會現實有明顯落差。要理解貧窮問題,首先必須搞清楚貧窮的定義。香港的堅尼系數位列世界首五名之內,貧富懸殊嚴重,種種不公平的社會現象,如教育問題、財團壟斷、地產霸權、長者問題及新移民問題等等都是導致貧窮的原因。

「貧窮」作為一種社會現象,實在難以單憑幾張照片概括。在現今的知識經濟時代,為下一代提供良好的教育就是協助他們「向上流動」與「脫貧」的最佳渠道。要從根本改善香港的貧窮問題,政府必須重點改革教育制度。因此,這輯照片將集中反映香港現今的教育問題。

幾十年來,香港一直推行精英主義,金字塔式的優才教育,是建基於剝削考試制度的失敗者。政府只著重名校和精英,私立學校的出現,造成學校和學生的進一步分化和歧視,忽視教育的本質是要照顧每一個學童,不管是精英還是平庸,是富裕還是貧窮,也要一視同仁。

縱使當局多次推出金額龐大的紓困措施,但對於教育扶貧卻並不重視。對於貧窮家庭子女,教育是協助他們脫貧的主要途徑。有見及此,當局應全面檢視目前不合時宜的教育制度,擺脫精英主義及單向學習的教學模式,讓所有學童都能一視同仁地接受優質教育。

本人亦希望能有機會為大會拍攝其它導致貧窮的社會因素,以更完整的攝影系列深入探討香港的貧窮問題。

個人履歷

陳啟駿(M.C) 是香港土生土長的攝影師。他畢業於香港藝術學院與墨爾本皇家理工大學合辦的藝術文學士(主修攝影)課程。2011年,在山西平遙國際攝影展,舉辦個人影展—《生命生活》。同年,作品《尖子》代表香港藝術學院於國際教育論壇與博覽中展出。2013年,M.C.成為2014哈蘇年度攝影師大賽入圍者及三影堂攝影獎入圍者。

「我想表達的東西是如此的美麗與純粹」— 莫里茨.科內利斯.埃舍爾

基於這理念,我開始了創作,以作品反映個人對社會的反思,也希望用照片展現香港的獨有文化。

項目說明

記錄是作為一個攝影家的基本,我不過是紀錄身邊的事情吧了。而相片的用意,內容或密碼就由觀者去讀取吧。

個人履歷

陳偉江1976年出生於香港。1988-89年就讀香港九龍新法書院初中一年級,同年輟學。2010年開始發表個人作品及參與多個展覽,至今自資出版七本攝影集《情景》、《灣仔》、《啊~》、《平遙》、《東京1》、《婷婷》及《十九歲女生的溫柔》。個人展覽有「陳偉江攝影展」(2011)及「十九歲女生的溫柔」(2012)。 曾經在東京、平遙及香港參與聯展。

Poverty

Winner

Rufina Wu & Stefan Canham Project Statement Biography

Project Statement

Facing skyrocketing property prices and rents in Hong Kong, most low-income families left out of the public-housing network can only afford to live in either 100 sq. ft. subdivided flats, 20 sq. ft. ‘caged homes’ and ‘coffin rooms’, or steaming-hot, illegal rooftop flats.

To pay for their substandard living environment, these underprivileged families – with average household income of less than HK$8,000 – must spend more than half their earnings on rent. Not only does this restrict their budget for food and toys for their children, these families also have to live with serious safety hazards such as potential fire threats cause by overloaded electricity wiring amongst subdivided units, blockage of rear fire escape staircases and poor hygienic conditions.

Biography

Ko Chung Ming is a Hong Kong-based photojournalist with 11 years experience. His focus is on photographic stories, profile interviews, and features. He has covered a specialist eye hospital in Columbia that helps slum-area children throughout the country, the devastating floods in Thailand that swept away auto and electronic factories near Bangkok in 2001, the rapid desertification of Inner Mongolia, China posing a severe threat to the livelihood of its various ethnic inhabitants, and the PM 2.5 air pollution monitoring controversy in Beijing.

Over the years, Ko Chung Ming has received a number of photojournalism awards, including 1st prize Hong Kong Press Photographers Association – Focus at the Frontline 2007, People category and 1st prize in the Focus at the Frontline 2002, Features category. He participated in ‘Art Chat on Harbour’, a exhibition featuring Hong Kong and China artists at the Cattle Depot in 2004.

Project Statement

There is no elevator. We walk up the eight flights of stairs, hesitating on the last one, looking at each other, out of breath: we have no right to be here.

The roof is a maze of corridors, narrow passageways between huts built of sheet metal, wood, brick and plastics. There are steps and ladders leading up to a second level of huts. We get lost. Our leaflets in hand, Rufina knocks on a door. There is an exchange in Cantonese. Stefan stands in the background, the foreigner, smiling, not understanding a word. They hear us out, smile back and invite us into their homes.

Later, we look down at the building from a higher one across the street. The roof is huge, like a village. There must be thirty or forty households on it. From the outside there is no way of knowing what is inside. Whether they have Internet or not. Whether they have a toilet. And there is no way of knowing their stories.

Who makes a picture of this? Who keeps a record? Sometimes a newspaper will print an article, or an NGO will launch a campaign. Various government departments keep files on so-called “unauthorized building works”, coding the huts with permanent markers and photographing them. The files are not on public record, but residents may look at them to learn why their homes are to be demolished. Very rarely do rooftop residents document their own spaces: the family pictures we saw were taken standing in a field of sunflowers, or in a village in the mainland, or down on the street beside someone else’s car, smiling.

We walk up the stairs again. We no longer get lost in the corridors. We learn how residents modify and maintain their homes. There are people who have been living on the roof for twenty or thirty years who have helped to build the city. The new immigrants from Mainland China, from Southeast Asia, from Pakistan, continue to do so. In the seventies, they built the underground, and now they are working on the new tower blocks. Hong Kong’s older districts are being redeveloped. Some buildings are crumbling because they were built with salt water concrete. Others have to make way for taller ones that yield higher profits. Few rooftop residents would mind living in the new towers, but they cannot afford it. All are afraid of being resettled to the remote satellite towns, where there may be few opportunities and limited social networks.

We walk up the stairs again. The rooftop settlements are an urban legacy, telling the story of Hong Kong, of political upheavals in Mainland China, of urban redevelopment, of people’s hopes and their needs in the city.

Biography

Rufina Wu was born in Hong Kong in 1980. She studied at the University of Waterloo in Canada where she completed degrees in Environmental Studies and Architecture. She was a CCSEP Visiting Scholar at Tsinghua University in Beijing, China from 2005 to 2006. Beijing Underground, her graduate thesis, focuses on migrant housing found in Beijing’s underground air raid shelters. This body of research won an AIA Medal and was exhibited in Canada, United States, and Germany. From December 2007 to February 2008, she was artist-in-residence at Hong Kong’s Art and Culture Outreach, collaborating with Stefan Canham on Portraits from Above. The project won the 5th International Bauhaus Award 2008 and was published by Peperoni Books, Berlin, and MCCM Creations, Hong Kong. It has been exhibited in Asia, Europe, and North America, including solo exhibitions at Goethe–Institut and Lumenvisum Gallery (Hong Kong, 2009), Kunsthaus (Hamburg, 2009), and Harbourfront Centre (Toronto, 2010). Her research interest focuses on informal housing tactics associated with rapid urban development and population mobility. Rufina currently lives in Vancouver. Stefan Canham was born in England in 1968. He studied Film at Hamburg Academy of Fine Arts, Germany, and has been working free-lance on documentary photo and television projects since 1995. He is interested in the amazing and beautiful things people create even under adverse circumstances, and in their photographic representation. In 2003 he was artist-in-residence at the Schleswig-Holsteinisches Künstlerhaus in Eckernförde, Germany. His photographic record of the mobile squatter culture in Germany was short-listed for the 3rd International Bauhaus Award 2004 and published under the title Bauwagen / Mobile Squatters by Peperoni Books (Berlin) in 2006. He has exhibited in Germany and abroad and contributed to journals like An Architektur (Berlin), Critical Planning (Los Angeles), Sarai Reader (Delhi), MONU Magazine on Urbanism (Rotterdam) and Arhitext (Bucharest). From December 2007 to February 2008, he was artist-in-residence at Hong Kong’s Art and Culture Outreach, collaborating with Rufina Wu on Portraits from Above. The project won the 5th International Bauhaus Award 2008 and was published by Peperoni Books, Berlin, and MCCM Creations, Hong Kong. It has been exhibited in Asia, Europe, and North America, including solo exhibitions at Goethe–Institut and Lumenvisum Gallery (Hong Kong, 2009), Kunsthaus (Hamburg, 2009), and Harbourfront Centre (Toronto, 2010). Substantial parts of the project have been presented in themed exhibitions, including Informal Cities at the Coomaraswamy Hall, (Mumbai 2009), Breda Photo (Breda, 2010), High-Rise – Idea and Reality at Museum für Gestaltung (Zurich, 2010), Rapid Change at Te Tuhi Centre for the Arts (Auckland, 2011), and The City that does not exist at Museum Ludwig Forum (Aachen, 2012). Numerous magazines have published excerpts of Portraits from Above, including European Photography


Finalists

Katherine Chan Sim-Kuen Project Statement Biography
Chan Wai Kwong Project Statement Biography

Project Statement

Considering the subject of poverty, I grew up in a poor family and therefore I have first-hand experience on how life is without money. Articles or objects that were considered extras, or that were left behind by other people, were treated as treasure by us. As I grew up, I developed an appreciation for the patience of cleaners. Their job is regarded by society as lowly, but it is a very, very important job. If it not were for those unsung heroes, it would be difficult to imagine what Hong Kong would be like. In my project, I want to understand more about the working poor’s jobs through their office spaces and in their rest areas in order to record the truth about their treatment. To illustrate how they are ignored by society, but worthy of respect. So that viewers will think about issues of giving and receiving, and reflect on treasuring what we have – respect and equality.

Biography

Katherine Chan Sim-Kuen received her Diploma in Design – Visual Communication at the Lee Wai Lee Technical Institute in 1995. She then graduated with a Bachelor of Arts (Hons) in Photographic Design from the Hong Kong Polytechnic University in 1998 and with a Master of Fine Arts in Media Design and Technology from the City University of Hong Kong in 2007. Katherine’s works have been showcased in the United Kingdom, Japan, China and Hong Kong, and she has participated in several exhibitions and screenings, including “APO – 12 Oil Street: Casting I Online Exhibition & ART HK12” (2012), “Young Portfolio – Photographs by the Next Generation” Kiyosato Museum of Photographic Arts in Japan (2003), “The Royal Photographic Society’s 146th International Print Exhibition” (2003-04), the public screening of the “19 Lives through 19 Eyes” documentaries (2004) and “The 2nd BBU International Student Film, Television & New Media Works Exhibition” Award Screening (2004). She has received the Silver Award at the Hong Kong Institute of Professional Photographers (HKIPP) Awards in 1999 and the Bronze Award in 2001. The Silver Medal given by the Royal Photographic Society in Britain (2003) and the Outstanding Documentary Award at the Second BBU – International Student Film, Television & New Media Works Exhibition in Beijing, China (2004). Katherine’s works are collected by the Kiyosato Museum of Photographic Arts in Japan, the Hong Kong Heritage Museum and several private collectors.

Project Statement

Like many other districts in Hong Kong, North Point, the area that is the focus of this project, is experiencing rapid change and gentrification. Luxury apartments and new retail chain stores are sprouting up amid the decades-old buildings and traditional shops in what has been a predominantly working-class neighbourhood. Rising rents and constant redevelopment are pushing long-term residents out of places like Kai Yuen Lane, which was photographed for the project. North Point has always attracted migrants – affluent Shanghainese in the 1950s, Fujianese with ties to Southeast Asia from the ’60s onwards. It now attracts a range of new migrants from China, as well as expatriates. New arrivals, decades-long residents, the poor, blue collar workers, middle-class families and expatriates all live side-by-side in towering blocks like those we see all over urban Hong Kong. Like many older mixed-use neighbourhoods around the city — Causeway Bay, Mongkok or Sai Ying Pun — North Point is characterised by high-rise apartment blocks haphazardly built next to office towers and old walk-up buildings. The outside appearance of buildings doesn’t tell us much about what is inside. Changing economic realities mean blocks are constantly reconfigured into large multigenerational flats, smaller single-family flats, or subdivided cubicle flats. The project “North Point” examines this changing district, and its history of migration, through the personal lives and homes of its inhabitants. Looking at how family spaces, personal spaces, and communal spaces define and are defined by the economic and social environment, the work highlights how people deal with the increasing price and difficulties of living in Hong Kong.

Biography

Wei Leng Tay’s (b.1978, Singapore) practice examines how people’s relationships, priorities, and ways of life are shaped by the socio-political landscape of the places they live in. She has exhibited with organisations such as the Fukuoka Asian Art Museum, Japan, the Selasar Sunaryo Art Space, Indonesia, the National Museum of Singapore, Chulalongkorn University Art Center, Bangkok, and the NUS Museum, Singapore. She has also participated in festivals such as the Noorderlicht International Photography Festival, The Netherlands, the International Photography Festival of Rome, the F/Stop International Photography Festival in Leipzig, PhotoEspana and the Delhi Photo Festival. Her work is collected by museums such as the Kiyosato Museum of Photographic Arts, Japan, the Hong Kong Heritage Museum and the Fukuoka Asian Art Museum.

Project Statement

This body of work explores a simple question: What does it mean to be poor?

It is not an emotional statement. It is an examination of the choices one faces living at the poverty line. I work with an economist, Lin Hui-Yi, to ensure factual and statistical consistency. We have documented this project in 16 countries – including Hong Kong – across six continents. We are not trying to compare different countries’ poverty, but rather to have a starting point to understand poverty within a country’s context. For developed countries, where there is relatively updated household consumption data, we focus on the average daily amount that a person at the poverty line would spend on food.

One frame. One person. One day.

Everything else is left up to interpretation.

HKD $44.96 (USD $5.77, EUR£4.01) for food. This is based on a per capita per-day basis of a poverty indicator for Hong Kong (half of the median average household income), and low-income household food expenditure. Hong Kong currently does not have an official poverty line, but this is expected to come into place under the Commission on Poverty which was newly re-established in December 2012. There is presently, however, an official poverty analysis framework uses a multi-dimensional approach to monitor 24 poverty indicators, which includes educational and child social support rates in addition to income indicators. Poverty indicator statistics are mainly collected by the Census and Statistics Department through the General Household Survey and the Social Welfare Department. Poverty and social welfare issues are monitored and championed by the Hong Kong Council of Social Service, which is the overall coordinating body for social service NGOs in Hong Kong. Note: Latest available standards and exchange rates were taken as of July 2011, when the photography was undertaken.

Biography

Grateful to be a witness through his camera, Stefen is a photographer with an unique eye and effervescent personality.

The Poverty Line project, done in conjunction with economist Lin Hui-Yi, won the grand prize at the Arles Photography Open Salon, and was awarded an artist residency during the Les Rencontres d’Arles. The photographic project has since been exhibited at the Three Shadows Photography Art Center in Beijing, and various galleries in Penang, Singapore and Cologne. It has been featured in numerous media transcending conventional photography-based media, including NPR, Foreign Policy, Xinhua and Singapore Business Times. The project was also presented at [email protected], a global talent search by TED in 2012.

Stefen’s work has been recognized with awards by PDN, Billboard, International Photo Awards, Photographie de la Paris. He, himself, is one of the judges for the Tokyo-based Nikon Photo Contest. His clients include The Smithsonian, Time Magazine, Geo Germany, The Guardian, and various commercial companies.

At the age of 25, Stefen climbed to the summit of Mount Everest; he is a member of the Explorers Club,

Stefen currently lives between Beijing and Singapore.

Project Statement

If the use of the word ‘poverty’ is meant to be understood as ‘absolute poverty’, then there may not be that many ‘poor people’ in Hong Kong. This kind of narrow interpretation differs from the social reality of Hong Kong today. To understand Hong Kong’s ‘poverty problem’, first we must clarify the definition of poverty.

The Gini index in Hong Kong is amongst the top five in the world, which means there is a serious gap between the rich and the poor. All shades of unfair social phenomena – such as educational favouritism, monopolies, real estate hegemony, difficulties facing the elderly and new immigrants, etc. – all contribute to the growth of poverty.

‘Poverty’ as a social phenomenon, and as an issue, is difficult to summarize in a few photos. In this age of ‘knowledge economy’, good education is the key to helping our next generation ‘move upward’ and escape poverty. To fundamentally address and solve the problem of poverty in Hong Kong, the government must focus on reforming the existing educational system. Hence, in this series I consider, reflect and focus on the problems in the educational system.

Hong Kong has been promoting ‘elitism’, turning quality education into talent education. The government’s main focus is on the high- reputation schools and the graduating elite. The emergence of private schools has created an atmosphere of discrimination and segregation amongst schools and students. The government has forgotten that education is fundamentally democratic – for every student. Each student, whether elite or ordinary, rich or poor, should be treated equally.

Government authorities have launched, numerous times, large scale poverty relief measures, but have never addressed poverty alleviation through education. For children of poor families, education is a way to help them get out of the poverty cycle. The government should conduct a comprehensive review of the current outdated educational system, break away from elitism and a single directional teaching model, so that all children can receive quality education.

This work is ongoing as I consider other contributory social problems in order to create a more complete series of photographs that explore poverty in Hong Kong.

Biography

M.C. (Michael Chan) is a local born Hong Kong artist. He began his career as a professional photographer and photographic artist in 2005. M.C. received a Bachelor of Arts (Fine Art) in Photography at Hong Kong Art School / RMIT University. In 2011, he had a solo exhibition ‘Life and Living’ at the Pingyao International Photography Festival in China. M.C.’s series ‘Elite’ was presented by the Hong Kong Arts School at the International Education Forum & Expo 2011. In 2013, M.C. is one of the finalists of the Hasselblad Masters 2014 and Three Shadows Photography Award 2013.

“The things I want to express are so beautiful and pure.” — Maurits Cornelis Escher.

Based on this belief, I started my life in photography. My works are a reflection of my opinions and my feelings towards this society.

Project Statement

“To record” is fundamental to a photographer. I’m merely recording things around me. As far as the intent, content or connotation of the photograph is concerned, it shall be interpreted by the viewer.

Biography

Chan Wai Kwong was born in Hong Kong in 1976. He left school at an early age and began to explore his creative side. To date Chan has self-published seven photography books including ‘The Moment’, ‘Wanchai’, ‘Ah~’, ‘Pingyao’, ‘Tokyo 1’, ‘Ting Ting’ and ‘Tenderness of a 19 yr Girl’. In 2011, he held a pop-up solo exhibition in his home titled ‘ Chan Wai Kwong Photo Exhibition’, filling every wall in the flat with his black and white portrait and street photography. His solo exhibition ‘Tenderness of a 19 yr Girl’ was held at 100ft. Park Hong Kong in 2012. Chan has participated in group exhibitions in Tokyo, Hong Kong and Pingyao, China.